Skip to main content


Connecting local communities with businesses and industries across the world since 1988

Discover the Difference

Experience the Dallas County Difference

The Greater Dallas County Development Alliance is a public/private partnership that seeks to connect local communities with global businesses and industries within Dallas County, Iowa, the fastest-growing county in Iowa and one of the fastest-growing counties in the nation.

Through our centralized hub of resources, we simplify the information-gathering process and highlight the Dallas County difference, fostering economic development and making Dallas County a great place to live, work, play, and do business.

View Buildings and Sites

Our Staff

Rachel Wacker

Executive Director

Rachel Wacker is the executive director of the Greater Dallas County Development Alliance. Wacker most recently worked in the city of West Des Moines’ community and economic development department, supporting business development and expansion efforts and urban renewal projects. She’s also worked in business development roles at Iowa Economic Development Authority and North Iowa Corridor Economic Development Corp. in Mason City. Wacker, a recent West Des Moines Leadership Academy graduate, has a Bachelor of Arts in journalism and mass communication from Iowa State University.

Julie Johnson

Project Manager

There are lots of reasons why Julie Johnson is a go-to expert for community leaders and businesses in Dallas County. Johnson brings 14 years of experience to her role, where she manages the GDCDA’s existing and new business programs. She’s a resource for existing businesses seeking project assistance. She also recruits new business and helps with site certification for properties in Dallas County. As a Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design Professional (LEED AP), Johnson is also ready to help develop strategies to promote sustainability.

Kathleen Olson

Office Manager

Kathy Olson provides administrative support to the GDCDA. She brings with her years of administrative experience in the use of office technology to manage processes and procedures as well as event planning. Olson is a Certified Professional Secretary as well as CompTIA A+ certified in both hardware and software. She earned her B.A. in organizational administration from the University of Northwestern–St. Paul in Minnesota.
Skip to content